Click and grow 25 mold on top of wicks

Hello, I am new to my click and grow 25. On my empty slots it looks like mold has grown on the wicks on top. I am using the system just as it is supposed to and I am planting week 4 today. Should I try and clean the wicks before planting? I don’t want the mold to affect plant growth. Also should I be concerned going forward? Thank you.

1 Like

Hi,

I’m pretty sure its roots growing through the wicks. It’s only natural for them to grow downward and into the water.

The wicks need to be changed only when they are no longer doing their job.
The wicks can be cleaned with a mild soap solution or submerging them in a 50/50 water and vinegar solution. They seem to be working nicely, but I recommend removing wicks from the trays that aren’t used atm and adding them just before the next cycle approaches or before clicking the pods. This way you can use the wicks for longer periods before buying new ones.

If there is some algae or limescale build-up, this can easily be dissolved with some mild food vinegar or citric acid solution. Also submerging the wicks in hydrogen peroxide works too. It cleans up well and the wicks look brand new.

I think you’re doing wonderfully. This kind of mold doesn’t affect plant growth. Keep on harvesting :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you so much, I appreciate your feedback. One other question, I live in the south east United States and it is very humid here. I’m afraid it is affecting plant growth as I have seen other videos where their plants look much bigger than mine at the current timeframe. I bought a small fan and have it pointed at the garden and I have it running throughout the day which does seem to be helping. I also check the app daily for humidity. Should I try anything else? Thank you.

1 Like

Sure, no problem.
That’s great if you have already added a fan near the garden, it helps to circle the humid standing air and make plants sturdier.