Ireland-based Newbie anxious about black spots on salad greens

Hi all,
SG3 newbie here, based in the West of Ireland. Just started growing my first plants: red kale, romaine lettuce and green sorrel. Attached photos.
Noticed black spots on couple leaves on my lettuce. Not many insects here (as far as I know), and my flat is a good home, not damp or cold (despite the Irish climate). I read somewhere that black spots are caused by pests, so my questions to you, dear experts are:

• Do you think this is due to pests, or something else?
  • How can I treat this? I am pro-organic and permaculture so I want this baby garden to be chemical/pesticide free
  • How to make sure it does not happen again, and how to make sure it does not affect the other plants?
  • I also see white fluffy stuff (sorry don’t know what that is) on the soil and around bits of seeds in the soil - is that a problem?

Couple of leaves on my sorrel have burnt tips but I think these were the ones touching the dome when sprouting. The sorrel does not look as green as the other two … hope she’s okay :slight_smile:

Any other advice welcome, and best wishes to all.
M.

1 Like

Hi @Morgaen , welcome to the community!

It’s great to see that we have growers in Ireland :blush:

Your plants look really healthy and I would not do anything atm. Of course, it makes sense to monitor how they continue to grow. Some leaves have a tiny bit of brown edges, but this indeed might be due to the dome. If cotyledons have some browning on them, it is ok, first leaves may die back, and this is normal. Raise the lamp and keep the u-shape lids on.
For monitoring the pods, I would recommend getting the app, register your garden, and add your plants to it. You can change the “start date” of the plant once you are adding the plants, then you’ll see the accurate age of the plants and app will provide you timed tips. This way you know when to harvest your plants when they are at their best!

1 Like